Site Map | Search this site:

Waikanae School prize giving
December 2012
Addison Hodges (left) and Maia Richmond (middle), joint winners of the Sundgren Greig Family Cup for Taha Maori receive their award from Elizabeth Couchman, BOT chairperson.

Year 8 student successes at Waikanae School were recognised at the end of year prize giving held in the Waikanae Memorial Hall on Monday 19th December.
In front of the rest of the school and a sizable number of parents the 57 year eight students received awards and cups for their sporting and academic endeavours during the year.
The special assembly included speeches by a pupil from each of the five senior classes, performances by two of the school bands, and performances from both the junior and senior Kapa Haka groups.


Waikanae School Councillors Award for Leadership Vincenza Coromandel & Taine Halbert

Dora Saunders Challenge Cup for the Best in Oral Language Sam Heustice

Noeline McGowan Challenge Cup for Excellence in Written Language Lex Ashurst-Smoult & Olivia Paxie

B & H Netball Cup for Most Promising Player Paige Edwards

Ambler Cup for Overall Hexathlon Champion Ethan Halverson & Lee-Tara Thoresen

Recognition Cup for Sporting Achievement, Boys Taine Halbert & Ethan Halverson

Recognition Cup for Sporting Achievement, Girls
Lee-Tara Thoresen & Rose Surrey
Recognition Cup for Best in the Visual Arts Ethan Halverson

Recognition Cup for Best in Technology Caleb Green-Wilson & Zak Kiernander

Randall Cup for Excellence in Performing Arts Girls Addison Hodges & Kesiah Dennis

Excellence in Performing Arts - Boys Tim Kooiman

Aitken Cup for Contribution to Music Fergus Aitken

Sundgren Greig Family Cup for Taha Maori Maia Richmond & Addison Hodges

Library Cup for services to the Library Monique Wilson

Award for Outstanding Contribution to the Environment Victoria Haig & Olivia Paxie

Recognition Award for Superb Effort in Languages Gregor Carr & Frankie Davis

Lesley Duncan Prize for great progress in English Jacob McLennaghan
Pearson Award for Excellence in Computer Technology Duncan McPhee

Principal's Award for 2012 Monique Wilson

Maths Achievement Cup for Best in Maths & Jim Brown Memorial Award for excellence in senior maths ($100) Lex Ashurst-Smoult

Diana Feek Memorial Cup for Positively Facing Challenges Jamie Clancy

Wilson Family Award for Superb Effort Maia Richmond

Udy Family Scholarship Cup for the pupil who showed most pride & commitment to Waikanae School ($200)Rose Surrey
Mitchell-Ellison Challenge Cup for the Best All Round Pupil & Rotary Award ($200) Olivia Paxie.

Willa (added 364 weeks ago)
congrats lee-tara you did well
Add a comment:

Reload Image
  To prevent spam, please type the numbers and letters that appear above into the field below:


Other stories in this section:
KC News: the Internet Newspaper for the Kapiti Coast